sweetcorn chittings

• 102 Replies

suetritton

sweetcorn chittings
« on: April 05, 2013, 17:12 »
this is my first post, so hello to everyone first.  Quick question if I may: I have chitted 20 sweetcorn successfully, but I realise now that I am too early, it should have been end of April, but on the seeds themselves they seems to have sprouted 2 roots, top and bottom, how do I put these in the root trainer?  And how many cobs to each plant will there be on average? I feel a bit silly asking these questions but I am a complete novice.

Kleftiwallah

Re: sweetcorn chittings
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2013, 17:44 »

I presume you sat them on wet kitchen paper or something like that?  If you hold them between damp blotting paper and the inside of a pint glass, gravity will tell the roots to head down and later the shoots to head up.  then you'll know which way is up! and which way up to plant them. :ohmy:

Cheers,   Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2013, 18:23 »
Hello Sue, and welcome!

Just how much too early you are depends on where you live (the further north you are in the UK the later they can be planted out and the longer they will have to be kept going until you can.)

They should be potted up ASAP after germination - a good way to "cheat" is to set them so the shoot and root are horizontal before covering them up (they will sort themselves out, although you can tell the difference with practice.)

As to yield, variety, growing conditions (including the weather!) and again location play a part - for me 3 cobs per plant is an excellent result, usual average one and a half, last year one!  :wacko:

If you put your approximate location in your personal forum profile we will be able to take it into account when answering any further questions you may have.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!