bedding and ventilation

• 9 Replies

chelseablue

• Experienced Member
bedding and ventilation
« on: December 10, 2007, 17:25 »
hello everyone

need some advice please

I put wood shavings on the bottom of the coop not too thick and hay in the nest boxes, they seem happy enough and it is quite quick and easy to clean, my friend who is going to look after the hens while we are away for Christmas has today covered the bottom of the coop in thick layers of hay she says to keep them warm overnite also she wants to cover up the ventilation holes that are on the side of the coop I have said no we cannot do that as they do need ventilation, not too sure either if that is way too much hay and that they will be ok with just wood shavings and hay in the nest boxes

any comments would be appreciated so I can give her the correct advise
before we go away in 2 weeks time

pauline
pauline

scara

bedding and ventilation
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2007, 17:33 »
Hi

I am only a newbie to this chicken keeping lark, but firstly I dont use hay only good straw in the nesting boxes and also on top of the dust free shavings in the rest of the coop, and secondly they will as you say need ventilation, it is my understanding that as long as there are no draughts coming through the ventilation holes then they are Ok. I hope this helps

Selkie

bedding and ventilation
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2007, 17:36 »
i'm pretty new to keeping hens too but i definately wouldn't block the ventilation holes.

we use straw throughout our little henhouse; we can't get dust free wood shavings only very fine ones which i thought would be too easy for them to inhale - so it's just straw for us :wink:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
bedding and ventilation
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2007, 17:44 »
You MUST leave the ventillation holes  :!: