Hi, I am new

• 11 Replies

Bren200

Hi, I am new
« on: March 27, 2013, 19:32 »
Hi, I am new on here. I am very interested in keeping chicken's. I am a complete beginner so looking for any tip's. I have been reading up on coop's not sure wether to go for plastic or wooden coop's.

devonbarmygardener

• I live, therefore I garden!
Re: Hi, I am new
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 19:42 »
Depends really.
Are you going to have them in a permanent place, or do you want to move the coop/run around?
Are they going to be free range for a while in the day?
How big do you want the coop and run to be?

When we were building the coop (wooden), we were told that it needs to be big enough to hold 2 more hens than you are actually going to have so they have plenty of space to roost.
Ours is big enough for 16 so the maximum we could have is 14 - we had 12 at most at one point, now we have 11.

Oh and despite there being 3 perches to roost on, the girls have to snuggle together on the highest perch!! ::)

Bren200

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 19:46 »
Well we do want to move it about. Yes will be free to Rome for a little time. We want to keep about 4 chicken's.

devonbarmygardener

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2013, 19:48 »
Also depends on how much you want to spend.

Some of these plastic Eglu type things are quite expensive. Wood would be cheaper, particularly if you can find some reclaimed wood and recycle it.
Of course you have to treat wood as well. :)

Bren200

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2013, 20:04 »
We know plastic is expensive but it sounds better. We are looking for second hand eglu cube or classic on e-bay.

splash101

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2013, 20:30 »
I think long term,  plastic would be better.

They are more expensive but go for a good quality one, even if it means saving up for a few more months.

Have a look on Gumtree as well as they seem to have some great bargains on there.