Cabbages - advice please for newbie

• 32 Replies

rogertb

• Experienced Member
Cabbages - advice please for newbie
« on: November 08, 2012, 14:51 »

Well you'll have to forgive me for being so useless but I am totally new to this game, I planted cabbages etc (plants bought from the local market) ... they've grown quite well but have been attacked, they are covered in caterpillars, when I weed them hundreds of flies rise up and there are lots of holes, so is this a mixture of slug and caterpillar damage ?

My questions, can I cut away the badly damaged leaves, will they ever heart up, is it too late to 'treat' (I've been avoiding chemicals but if needs must) or should I call it a day and dig them up !, what should I do to avoid this dilemma next year ?

Many thanks - Roger

Fisherman

Re: Cabbages - advice please for newbie
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2012, 15:24 »
I think they are past their best :( It has been a bad year for slugs due to the amount of wet weather we have had. If they hadn't have been damaged so badly they could have been a decent crop. Next year in spring and throughout the growing season I would try to reduce the amount of slugs by using pellets, Nematodes, beer traps and any other method you can find to rid your plot of slugs. To be honest its an ongoing war of attrition >:(. I would also cover any of your brassica crops with netting preferably Enviromesh or similar so that you can also prevent cabbage root fly attacking your crop as well as cabbage white butterflies. There are also other pests that might be causing problems such as dart moth caterpillars and leather jacket larvae (daddy long legs). Pigeons can also be a problem and again the mesh protection will sort that.

pdblake

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2012, 15:59 »
Looks like everything's had a go at them. Next year use netting, or better still, enviromesh/vegimesh and your prefered method of slug control.