Volume of produce

• 32 Replies
Volume of produce
« on: June 10, 2010, 19:22 »
Hi All,
I am very new to this. Can anyone tell me what sort of volume of produce is likely to be obtained from a standard size allotment plot (which I believe is about 250sq. yds.). I can get figures for crop yields for individual foods, but this isn't really very helpful. Whilst I am aware that it is possible to grow more than one crop on the same piece of land within a single year, I know practically nothing at the moment about the growing process. I know nothing about what plants can reasonably be grown consecutively on the same bit of land during a single season but I want a target of what is reasonable to produce and I'd like it to be as a result of reasonably efficient methods. I guess the easiest measurement of the crop production is the retail price of whatever is grown. I guess I have clarified my own thinking! If anyone can tell me the crop volumes of the most efficent combinations of produce, or its retail cash value I'd be grateful. ???

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: Volume of produce
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 19:26 »
I think you need to learn to walk before you start to run.  Also, you are not allowed to sell any produce from a council allotment.
Cheese makes everything better.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2010, 19:29 »
Tell you the volume of produce? and value? .........IMO it's impossible, there are too many variables.....soil and weather to name but 2.

You can only say that during the war a standard allotment plot was judged to provide a family of 4 with their seasonal fresh vegetable requirements. Nowadays lots of people grow soft fruits as well which cuts down on available space for vegetables, but possibly provides a crop of more value :)

allotmenteer

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 19:35 »