Grapevines up North

• 13 Replies

AlaninCarlisle

Grapevines up North
« on: September 06, 2014, 17:56 »
I want to try grapes in my polytunnel next year. I've never tried them before. Can anyone recommend a suitable dessert (black or white) variety for these Northern latitudes, please?

snowdrops

Re: Grapevines up North
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2014, 20:34 »
Black hamburg should fit the bill
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

davetoddy

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2014, 09:22 »
Hi Alan , I grew Black Hamburg and Madelaine Angevine in a Green house in Whitehaven (not that far away) It was a while ago now and had grapes from both . Planted the root outside and led stem into greenhouse , they are a strong vine so am not sure about polytunnel though . I have just got a polytunnel and grapes are on my list of potential crops so would be interested how you get on

ambodach

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2014, 10:10 »
I'll give a thumbs up to Black Hamburg too.  I'm just west of Edinburgh and have had one in my 6 x8ft leantoo G/H for ~20years.  This year I had 20 bunches on it so if you give it the space of  P/T, you'll get a lot of fruit.

I've got several cuttings from last year's pruning in leaf and root if you want to take a chance on the postal service - I could look for a tube and with plenty of damp kitchen roll round the root, it should travel OK.  Somewhere I also have reasonably extensive growing instructions.

I think I would look to having a wooden frame of some sort for it.   I would also think about water source and possibly plant it near the wall so that the root can go outside - that and the wooden frame position may not be compatible, but I will leave you to think about that.  There may well be others who have vine / PT experience.

Rob

AlaninCarlisle

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2014, 15:50 »
That'd be fantastic Ambodach, thanks. Will send you a personal message

Alan

AlaninCarlisle