Advice on Sprouts and other things

• 2 Replies

ldavison10

« on: March 17, 2008, 12:56 »
hi,
I am relatively new to this and this will only be my 2nd year of sowing, growing and eating veg. I have a small garden and grow veg in the border and in a smallsoil triangle. Anyway my questions are;
1) I still have sprouts in the ground from last year, these are about 18" high and seem to have survived okay. Do i now dig these up? Ive not had a single sprout off them!
2) Likewise cabbages, ive about 10 small ones still growing (i think). If i leave these until better weather will they grow larger or is it better to plant new?
3) My 15 broadbeans i planted in december seem very flimsy in the wind, do i pile soil up the base of them to make them more secure or try to replant them deeper?
4) I seem to get an average of everything. No sprouts, mediocre cabbages, medium to small carrots. The only succesful things were broad beans, tomatoes, peppers and cucumber. My onions rotted almost the day after i planted them! Im kind to the veg, ive manured, fish boned and dug till im sore. The soil is well drained and weed free. This time around i want to get it right before i start so can anyone offer some tips?
5) Can i compost tomato plants or should i burn them due to risk of disease? Should i put all available compost into the borders or leave some to help rot the rest?
6) Should i start planting out now? (March 08)
7) Is there any difference in the seed 'manufacturers' any brand better than others?

Thanks all, I can see me becoming a bit of a regular on here!

Regards
Lee

paintedlady

« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 14:06 »
:shock: what a lot of questions!

First of all, welcome to the site.  Got quite a puzzle here.  You seem to be doing all the right things - dig, manure, weed etc.