Clematis

• 8 Replies

hickorychickory

Clematis
« on: April 03, 2008, 11:34 »
Brought 3 clematis plants and going to plant next to a fence.  They are small, should i leave the support canes in until they grow a bit.  

I am new at this growing flowers game, dont want them to die Help!  :

Alex 98

Clematis
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2008, 11:58 »
Yes, leave the canes, keep checking that the ties aren't restricting the growth. Planting, really important. Plant deep, Clematis roots like shade. Some people put pieces of slate around the base of the plant when planted to offer more shade. If your soil is heavy put plenty of horticultural grit in the planting hole, with blood fish & bone. Water well, really well.
Check what category your plants fall into as this is important for pruning. :tongue2:
Good luck
Alex 98
Alfie's Grandad

hickorychickory

Clematis
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2008, 12:32 »
Hi Alex 98

2 of the plants are deciduous, not sure on the other as it flowers in summer and autumn.  Is that what you mean by category :?:  The fence does not get full sun but base does first thing in the morning.

Thanxs for advice :D

Alex 98

Clematis
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 13:05 »
There are 3 catergories. Numbered 1, 2, and 3.
All Clems are deciduous except 'Armundi.'
You need to know what varieties you have got in order to identify which pruning group.
1.Early flowering. ie Alpinas & Montanas (Montanas can be monsters)Only prune if overgrowing it space, tidy up after flowering.
2. Mid flowering. Prune lightly after flowering, depending on size and where you want to train it.
3. Late flowering. Take down to 12 inches in Autumn
Mulch all well

Alex 98 :)

gobs

Clematis
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2008, 19:40 »
Quote from: "Alex 98"

All Clems are deciduous except 'Armundi.'

And a few other guys.

As Alex says, if you want pruning advice you need to know the variety.