Raised Beds?

• 26 Replies

Glen

• Experienced Member
Raised Beds?
« on: January 28, 2008, 21:41 »
I have been reading some posts on here and admiring some photos of well maintained plots. However, I have seen some pics with raised beds and some without. Whats the advantages?

gobs

Raised Beds?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 21:45 »
Plenty, in fact, I don't think there are any other serious downsides than building them. :wink:
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

Glen

• Experienced Member
Raised Beds?
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2008, 21:51 »
Thanks for the quick reply gobs, but i am a complete novice so will need a better explanation of the advantages please.

I'm waiting to get my first patch and would like to know the best way forward.

Ice

• muck spreader
Raised Beds?
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2008, 21:53 »
Upside, no digging, easy access, easy to weed, easy to net from blasted birds and a salad bed that was prolific despite the awful summer.

Downside, well there will be plenty of people along in a moment. :wink:
Cheese makes everything better.

noshed

Raised Beds?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2008, 22:05 »
Unless your soil is bad - claggy clay or something - I wouldn't bother. You will end up doing more carpentry than gardening. You can get the benefits - less digging, closer spacing of crops etc by just having narrow beds that you don't walk on. Over a period of time, with the application of manure and compost, they will rise up.
But if you feel like having a go - make a couple and see what you think. I've got a small one in a grotty corner which I grow salads in and I inherited a sort of ramshackle one from my predecessor.
Always remember my mate's good advice: "It's only an allotment". If it doesn't work this year, you will know better next time.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

Motivator

• Experienced Member