Shallot questions

• 7 Replies

JohnB47

Shallot questions
« on: June 08, 2010, 16:04 »
This is my first time growing shallots. They're looking good but I'm wondering:

1. When to lift them - do they flop over like onions to indicate that they'e ready?

2. Do they store well once you've lifted them?

3. I planted mine on 14th Feb (Golden Gourmet) and 20th March (Jermor). Can you plant these as over-wintering crop? If so, are there special varieties for this and is there any point in growing them over winter?

Thanks.

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Shallot questions
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 16:58 »
This is my first time growing shallots. They're looking good but I'm wondering:

1. When to lift them - do they flop over like onions to indicate that they'e ready?

Yes, and can then be eased out of the ground for a few days prior to lifting and drying.

2. Do they store well once you've lifted them?

They vary, Golden Gourmet store well; I've not grown Jermor but sometimes what the sellers don't claim is as important as what they do!. They don't seem to make great claims for the storage life of Jermor but that doesn't mean they won't keep for a reasonably long time.

Like onions, any with thick necks compared to the others will not dry properly and therefore should be eaten first.

I still have some Vigarmor and Golden globe left from last year; can't say they're in perfect condition but still usable!

3. I planted mine on 14th Feb (Golden Gourmet) and 20th March (Jermor). Can you plant these as over-wintering crop? If so, are there special varieties for this and is there any point in growing them over winter?

Don't know, not tried but don't really see the advantage as they grow perfectly well planted in early spring.

Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

JohnB47