Chickens not sleeping in their house

• 5 Replies

tomroyall

Chickens not sleeping in their house
« on: July 28, 2011, 22:29 »
Hi I'm new to keeping chickens and a little worried we bought some day old chicks about 10 weeks ago and bought them a little coop second hand!! we had the chickens in the house and run and was all good but they have grown to big so we bought a chicken house so they could go free range I erected a tempory fence so they are safe and don't walk off so they get use to there new home but non of them are sleeping inside! they are all sleeping in the corner of there run! Help how do I get them to sleep in the house!

trish25158

Re: Chickens not sleeping in their house
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 23:00 »
Hi Tom, you need to go out when sleeping and put them in their coop. It may take a couple of nights but they'll soon learn . Good luck  ;)

tomroyall

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2011, 07:23 »
Is it that simple I have been doing that for the last couple of nights! I will carry on and hope they get the idea!  Thank you T

rachelr

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2011, 11:13 »
 :( I have been trying for about ten days to get mine to go to bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!! At 6 weeks I put them in the outside shed with access to the garden and every night all i did was shoo them to bed at half 9 ish. Now ten weeks old they have the run of the garden and will NOT go to bed. I am thinking of getting a sheep dog cos with 12 of them by the time i have some almost in the shed the others have run off to the bushes.

treats/corn/bribery and all they do is peck me!!!!!!! we have given them all asbos and will be arranging for ankle bracelet and no parole for the next two weeks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ps some of joyfuls sleep in the trees so dont worry too much unless you have a fox in the neighbourhood.

themagicaltoad1

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2011, 20:16 »