Winter lighting on the allotment

• 25 Replies

mushroom

« on: September 04, 2007, 20:47 »
This is my first year with the allotment. In the summer, theres plenty of natural light to do stuff. In the winter, there is relatively little, but there's still stuff to do. If people haven't daylight, and there's no electricity onsite, do folks just do the minimum and wait till spring, or get a genny, or use camping gazlight, or a battery-operated light? What do you use?

WG.

« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2007, 20:49 »
Surely you know ... mushroom grows in the dark !!

mushroom

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2007, 20:52 »
Quote from: "whisky_golf"
Surely you know ... mushroom grows in the dark !!

i knew someone would say that, lol  :lol:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2007, 20:52 »
Even in the depth of winter there is at least 8 hours of daylight each day  :!:   I wouldn't want (or need) to go digging after dark  :shock:

What do you need to do in the winter that won't fit into the weekends  :?:

mushroom

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2007, 21:04 »
Quote from: "Aunt Sally"
Even in the depth of winter there is at least 8 hours of daylight each day  :!:   I wouldn't want (or need) to go digging after dark  :shock:

around the winter solstice, there's around 6 and a half hrs at my latitude, if I recall correctly, but I'll look it up to make sure.

What do you need to do in the winter that won't fit into the weekends  :?: