Collecting manure

• 10 Replies

Janeymiddlewife

Collecting manure
« on: July 09, 2009, 10:07 »
A fellow allotmenteer on a neighbouring site has been collecting manure from a local stable who leave it out in bags for you to take & return empty sacks. I've used some this year and it seems to be OK aminopyralid-wise. I'm now thinking of picking up a bag a week or so to store somewhere so i can spread it on empty bits of the plot in the winter, as i can't really afford to shell out for a delivery and worry about contamination issues.
What should I store it in, can I spread it "fresh" as it will be left over the winter, or does it have to rot down first?
Thanks
JMW

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Collecting manure
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 11:38 »
I'm no great expert on manure but I would say it could either go in the compost bin or be left in a pile of its own.  Fresh manure takes nitrogen from the soil in order to decompose, so the advice is I think not to apply it fresh for that reason.  However, if you've got nowhere else to store it then I'd have thought it's better to have it than not at all.

Would like to hear what others with more experience say, though
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

diggerjoe

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2009, 11:54 »
On our site some are using fresh horse manure (its a mix of wood shavings and straw) as a mulch for their late crop spuds. I was thinking of doing the same so I could dig it in at the end of the season. Heavy rain is due saturday so I thought I would barrow a load up from the communal pile sunday. Anyone know if this would this be ok as a mulch?

PAH48

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2009, 14:10 »
Over the past couple of years I've greatfully recieved bag loads of horse manure..
each year piled it up in a pallet style compost heap, layering it as I go..by that I mean
two bags of manure and then cover with vedge waste (greens) from the plot. again