New plot in Basingstoke Hampshire - advice on soil please!

• 16 Replies

drypulse

Hello, I just got my first allotment and I am a complete beginner! The plot is not a huge one, less than one hundred square meters at a rough estimate. It has been neglected and although there are not too many weeds at the moment, there appears to be alot of tufts of grass and some other unidentified vegetbale. It is very water logged.

My main question would be how would be best to improve the drainage and the nutrients? Would well rotted manure be adequate for both and would it need to be dug in or left on the surface? I am not concerned too much about planting anything too soon! And would prefer not to use raised beds.

My plan was to remove as many of the weeds as I can by hand before april, then rotivate the soil and add the drainage improver then? Does that make sense? Any advice appreciated.

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: New plot in Basingstoke Hampshire - advice on soil please!
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 17:14 »
Hi there drypulse.

Yes your new plot does look pretty waterlogged, but we have had a massive amount of rain in the last few days.

Are other plots nearby also running with water or do they look better drained? The reason I ask is that it might not be your soil type... it might be the amount of rain and the soil is just compacted.

Good plan to dig off all the weeds ready for the new growing season.

Manure all over may not be a good idea, as some crops find it a bit too much to cope with.

Decide what you would like to grow and where these are going to go, before adding any manure at all.

Best to put it where potatoes are going imho  :)

Hope that helps a bit

Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2012, 17:19 »
I agree.