New garden and old rotavator

• 14 Replies

Mungo Toadfoot

New garden and old rotavator
« on: February 17, 2009, 14:20 »
Newbie here - hello all!

We'll soon be moving to a house with a garden large enough to actually do some proper growing in, instead of just using the greenhouse. To that end I've been looking out for garden-y things on Ebay and Freecycle.

I was fortunate enough to receive a Landmaster 100 rotavator from my local Freecycle yesterday and I'm in the process of a bit of fettling. The control cables and adjustable handles are now more-or-less working and everything that should move now does. The engine is causing a problem or two of its own though...

I Googled for the beastie and found the downloadable manual on this site (thanks, Gwiz!), and although it does refer to the 'make and break' points I can't find any on the engine. I know my way round an engine quite well and I'm wondering if it actually hasn't got any as there's a coil situated on the flywheel, the same as my petrol mower. I'm not getting a spark though so perhaps there is a little set of points somewhere? Any ideas?

Also, the starting pulley and cord are missing and I'm left with a square-section metal projection sticking out of the engine to start it with. I'm using a socket and extension bar just to turn the engine over at the moment but what are the chances of finding the correct item? Rocking horse poo? I might just make a starting handle and pretend it's a Model T Ford or similar.

Looking forward to contributing to other areas of the site now that I've found you.

Happy gardening,

Simon.

Gwiz

Re: New garden and old rotavator
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 17:08 »
Mungo toad foot. fantastic name, Simon.