asparsgus!

• 27 Replies

bright lights

asparsgus!
« on: January 21, 2008, 13:45 »
Hello,this is my first post so please be nice to me! Am a new allotment holder so this will be my first year of blood sweat and tears(if only).I have a question,purchased 12 asparagus 1 yr old crowns and in retrospect can see i got them too early.Am storing as reccommended,on wet newspaper with wet cloth on top but need to know how long its safe to store like this? I do have the beds ready but believe its too early to put them in? Many thanks in advance!

WG.

asparsgus!
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2008, 13:47 »
WELCOME.  We are nice to everyone on here (at least on their first few posts)  :D

An asparagus-type person will be along soon. :tongue2:

paintedlady

asparsgus!
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2008, 13:55 »
Although I have some asparagus I'm no expert, but why can't they go in the ground now?  I think the sooner they are in soil the better, surely?  Once in the ground they'll have to put up with cold, damp and frosty winters. :?
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

gobs

asparsgus!
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2008, 14:27 »
If you are not waterlogged but you should have nice well drained ground ready for them, if not, make some and plant them. Best place for them, I think.

Some planting instructions are very peculiar and will say only put about an inch of soil on them. If you have got those, I would advise to ignore that bit and cover well up to the top of the crown. As roots can get frozen and die, if colder weather comes. :)
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

Trillium

asparsgus!
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2008, 16:52 »
Agree with Gobs (hope it doesn't go to her head  :lol: ).