Newbie introduction !! THEFT?

• 4 Replies

Dan

• Experienced Member
« on: March 17, 2006, 21:40 »
Hi guys and gals...
Im a newbie just wanted to say hi and introduce myself..im a novice to allotments...im 33 this year and hope to be choosing a plot in some local allotments this week ( the place i favoured has a massive waiting list as its part of a yummy nature reserve) so i have to take a plot in a less desirable council estate-ish, rail road side...allotment..

i have had a quick scan but cant see any threads regarding theft, vandalism etc.....whats the deal? is it to be expected or have things got better as i dont want to have to cart all my tools and things home every visit?

Great site ! love it so far be prepared for many of my dumb ass questions !

Dan ;-)

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2006, 09:55 »
Hi Dan

Theft and vandals are a fact of life for all allotments but more trouble on some sites than others. Before I got my shed, my tools were hidden behind the compost heap but I think I could have left them in the open without a problem.

It only takes one thief on the site .....

Just ask the other plotholders what conditions are like.

Bigger sites can sometimes be safer as there are more people about. In our area we have some sites with no security that have no problems, some with high fences that have loads. Policemen are far too expensive to use as security men on allotments.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

Heather_S

• http://www.stargazy.org/plants/allotment/
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2006, 10:29 »
We have no secure fencing at the bottom of our allotment  :x We've had problems with kids coming in and vandalising everything but I'm not sure about theft. Just having it hidden or having a heavy locked up shed can be a good deterrant, I feel.
We just hide our tools in tall grasses and such too. Still need a shed. That'll be the next thing on our to-do list soon.