best laying hens?

• 20 Replies

spud

• Experienced Member
best laying hens?
« on: January 26, 2011, 13:07 »
I hope to have my new henhouse built in the next month or so, and got to wondering what breed I would try next ...

I want these birds to be good layers, in the past I've had a few breeds maran, ancona but mainly brown hybrid hens ...

has anyone got experience of leghorn, black rock, RIR  or what would folks recomend? I have some gamefowl that I use for hatching out eggs ;-)

Table:
Black Rock 3 outa 4
White Star 1 outa 4

TIA

Cheers

:)
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 15:18 by spud »
Best Regards,

spud

helens-hens

Re: best laying hens?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2011, 13:52 »
Hi Spud. I am still pretty new to all of this but I have 2 of the types you mentioned: blackrocks. They are both very good layers, 1 lays about 6 days in every 7, the other about 4-5 days out of every 7 and this has been throughout the winter, including the really cold spell we had (sorry my egg laying stats aren't very scientific looking!).

They seem very hardy birds, tame and quite friendly. I guess thats a thumbs up for them from me !
Helen

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2011, 14:05 »
Thumbs up for blackrocks from me too. Mine (Mrs Rhythm - got her with a Bluebelle called Mrs Blues  ;)) laid 6 eggs a week for 2 years then deopped down to 4 or 5 a week. They have been known to still lay the occasional egg at 8 years old. They are friendly, hardy and  lovely looking hens  :D
Staffies are softer than you think.

spud

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2011, 15:10 »
thank you thats a good start for the blackrocks ... what sort of price can one expect to pay for one of these? around here they're asking 12 quid and it hurts, I can get the hybrid brown hens for under a fiver.