Chickens sleeping in Nestboxes

• 5 Replies

chookey

Chickens sleeping in Nestboxes
« on: April 14, 2010, 22:03 »
Hi all
I am new to chicken keeping (2 weeks in) and wondered if anyone could give me advice.
I have two warrens and two bantam frizzles.  I am having problems with three of them sleeping in the nestboxes at night, so in the morning they are full of their poo, therefore, i have to change the bedding every morning.  The warrens are not laying yet, but am worried when they do start, which I'm hoping in the next couple of weeks, the eggs could get contaminated?  The two bantams are laying, but not frequently and tends to be later on in the day, so the nestboxes are clean by then, but I really want to try and break the habit if possible.  I have been told to blank the nestboxes off at night, would this be right?
I am sure the problem is that one of the frizzles is the dominant one and is the only one sleeping on the perches.  I have tried moving the three of them onto the perches at night, (as advised by a fellow chicken keeper), but its not working and i think the dominant one is pecking at them to get them moved.......
Any advice gratefully received.
thankyou.

Bogof

Re: Chickens sleeping in Nestboxes
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2010, 08:05 »
Close of the nest box, then when you let them out open it up. That's what worked for me.
Buy One Get One Free.

Aidy

• Location: Born n bred Lancastrian living in tropical Blackpool
    • Aidy Neal Photography
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2010, 10:40 »
Mine sleep in the nestbox. They are rescued bats and have a hard life so they can choose what they want to do, when they want to do it. Every morning I will clean coop, so to clean the nest box's ain't a major hassle for me.
Punk isn't dead...it's underground where it belongs. If it comes to the surface it's no longer punk...it's Green Day!

3Bluebelles

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2010, 13:34 »
Hi.