Beginners allotment!

• 10 Replies

Bibbiz

Beginners allotment!
« on: September 22, 2017, 20:02 »
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie on this site and a newbie to gardening who has just paid for an allotment for the year!

I was wondering if anybody could give me any adevice on how they would tackle my allotment( pictured). I have read a few articles on preparing allotments but would appreciate a bit more clarity on the gardening terms or for lack of a better word - jargon..

I'm guessing I start by raking off the dead grass and removing doc weeds - are these easy to eradicate? I plan on covering with a plastic sheet over the winter so do I turn the soil then add manure before doing so?

I have been told the soil is fairly fertile from previous owners using, I am also on the Isle of Man which I believe is zone 9??

There is also an old raspberry bush with a few greenish leaves on but I might take that out to start over with a new plan come February..

Please see pic.. any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you!!
IMG_1014.JPG
« Last Edit: September 22, 2017, 21:40 by Bibbiz »

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
Re: Beginners allotment!
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2017, 20:21 »
Welcome Bibbiz.
I would select an area to build a compost heap and put all the weeds there.
You have plenty of time to get ready for spring so take advantage of any dry sunny days that you can.
Have a look at what everyone else is doing and copy them.
Enjoy.
best wishes.

Mr Dog

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 11:22 »

JMCKG

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2017, 17:17 »
Go the No Dig way, just google. Clean up remove weeds to compost. Cover in cardboard, cover with manure, compost etc. Cover with plastic till ready to plant.

https://www.charlesdowding.co.uk/no-dig-growing/allotments/
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 17:18 by JMCKG »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2017, 19:22 »
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Tenhens