I'm new to this and need a hand!

• 13 Replies

broodyhen

I'm new to this and need a hand!
« on: July 18, 2009, 16:33 »
Hi!

We have 2 hens (at the moment) Pat who is Speckedly and Gladys who is a Warren. Currently Pat is sitting (very patiently) on fertile eggs and fingers crossed the eggs should hatch next weekend. Gladys we got at POL and she is wonderful! Talks to me (don't laugh!) she is so tame eats out of our hands and gets on well with our pet dog. However, I am really concerned about her, over the last week she hadn't laid any eggs which I put down to her pal sitting and generally not being around for her (we have 2 nest boxes) but to my surprise she laid 2 days and we had another yesterday, but for the last 2 days she looks terribly depressed. Not talking when we approach her, she isn't feeding she is drinking, her has the runs. I did notice her eating alot of maggotts a few days ago could this have upset her?? They weren't on anything dead or putrid. Her crest feels slightly warmer than usual. I really don't know what to do as we had these as pets and have enjoyed every single minute of having them.

We are all really worried. Please help  :(

poultrygeist

Re: I'm new to this and need a hand!
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2009, 18:20 »
Hi broodyhen. Welcome  :)

If you want to check her temperature, you can place your hand under her wing where it joins the body and compare her with your other hen.
If she feels overly warm, she'll need some anti-biotics which you can only get from a vet.

Watery poo can indicate a few things. Have a look at the poo thread http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=17568.0

ROb 8)

Vember

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2009, 18:25 »
Hi BHen

Welcome to the Hen House :D

A few things that may be worth checking on Gladys :

Have a feel underneath her vent and down towards her legs to see is you can feel anything egg shaped there?

Also check round her vent for any creepy crawlies :)