Renting a garden

• 17 Replies

Anton

Renting a garden
« on: March 14, 2024, 12:37 »
The plot of land I have been working on for the last two years is now going to be partially built upon. I found another plot of land, which is a bit further away (I don't drive) but is in a really nice spot, fenced off and water supply from a tank and a neighbour's roof.

The owner charges Euro 45 of 85 depending on the size of the plot. Euro 45 is about Pounds 40 I think.
I have always had plots for free for the last 18 years I have been gardening in this area, provided I kept them tidy. Does the rent sound excessive to you? The land is privately owned.

Anton

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: Renting a garden
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2024, 12:54 »
You don’t say how big the plots are but we are very happy to pay about £40 per year, including water and liability insurance, for plot which measures about 10 x 15 metres.

AndyRVTR

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2024, 16:04 »
If you can give e us an idea of the size of your plot, it might help answer your question Anton!  :)

Anton

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2024, 16:31 »
Thanks for your replies. I'm not sure about the size yet. I was talking about 10 metres by 10 metres but I have to see the owner again. I should also have specified the Euro 45 is per month.

Anyhow, I wrote to the owner yesterday saying I had never had to pay before and have not received any answer so far. Maybe I annoyed him. If he's that sensitive perhaps it's best not to get involved. We'll see!

Anton

vikingraider

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2024, 17:12 »
I'd say my allotment is about 250sqm and costs £40 per year. 45 euro per month sounds expensive to me

Anton

« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2024, 18:12 »
Thanks Vikingraider. Do you rent off the council, local authorities?

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2024, 18:44 »
That's over 500E per year for perhaps 100 sq m  :ohmy: