Strawberry Plants Help

• 5 Replies

RichardC

• http://www.forums.ilambretta.com/phpBB2/
Strawberry Plants Help
« on: November 23, 2008, 17:50 »
Hi

Just got in from collecting some tools and bean canes from freecycle and have found a carrier bag full of strawberry plants that have been left on my doorstep by a friend.

Trouble is it is now pitch black and throwing it down with rain and I have no pots or compost to hand, having only just got my allotment.

Question is, how long will the plants last without being planted on? They look like new plants from runners, but I have no idea on variety.

Also, should they go into pots and be kept in doors or in shed, or can they be planted out now?

Any help for a complete novice much appreciated.

Thanks

Richard
My other Forums Lambretta related

Beetroot queen

Strawberry Plants Help
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 17:53 »
Cant help much but wanted to know if strawberry plants can go in now or is it too late so will be watching for replies  :?

compostqueen

Strawberry Plants Help
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 18:03 »
if you can't get them in as the weather is too foul or the soil to frozen etc then I'd pot them up in soil or compost and keep them in a sheltered spot outdoors or in the cold greenhouse, coldframe or shed window.  They can't survive in the bag without water for too long. They'll make good plants and produce plenty of strawberries so they're worth the effort  :D

noshed

Strawberry Plants Help
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2008, 19:53 »
They'll keep for a few days just wrapped up in damp newspaper and kept cool. Plant them out as soon as the monsoon stops.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

RichardC

• http://www.forums.ilambretta.com/phpBB2/
Strawberry Plants Help
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2008, 20:48 »