He said yes!!

• 13 Replies

Parsnip

He said yes!!
« on: October 21, 2008, 12:22 »
I've managed to persuade my husband into letting me have some Chickens. In fact, unsurprisingly, he's actually rather keen now! :D

I've just bought the starting with Chickens book, as I am a complete novice. But we have a question that needs answering as soon as , please. We've just cleared a area at the top of the garden which is approx 30 metres square, now some of this we will allocate to a hen house and outside area for them, the other bit will be for a greenhouse.

The hen house will be in a fixed position, so what is the best material for the floor of their outside area?

Also while I'm at it... :oops:

I'm looking at maybe four hens, so how much room would they need inside and out given the area we've got to play with?

Would it be ok to let them roam the rest of the garden ( it is secure) ?

Thanks in advance Parsnip ( Sue) x

Vember

He said yes!!
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 12:39 »
Yipeee

That's great news Parsnip :D
For the outside run alot of people have bark down, it's great for them to forage in:)

If the garden is secure, baring in mind a fox can clear 5ft fence & dig under one then your hens will be fine to roam free :D

As for the measurements & room per hen maximum of 10 birds per one square metre (so I'm reading :lol: )
I was quite naughty & bought a largish coop and then kept adding hens to it  :lol:

Have you had a look through this that Bodger wrote, it's full of great info for before you buy hens :)
LINK

Sarah :)

poultrygeist

He said yes!!
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 13:02 »
hi Parsnip. Great news. :)

I won't add anything to what Vember said. You should get a lot of info from Bodger's post. We're all happy to give an opinion so you'll not be short of information ! :lol: