cover up in winter?

• 10 Replies

Bing

• Experienced Member
cover up in winter?
« on: November 03, 2011, 22:18 »
Hi, this is my first year and it was really fruitful, now I have cleaned almost all the plot and wondering whether it is a good idea to cover up the soil with black plastic sheets, to stop weed coming out...but in the meantime, stoping rain water get into the soil. what are the pros and cons of covering up?

Thanks
Rain at night, sunshine all day long!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: cover up in winter?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2011, 22:20 »
I wouldn't cover, but I certainly wouldn't use black plastic.  It stops air and water getting to the soil, thus having a detrimental impact on the soil's health.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2011, 22:26 »
Unless your soil is sandy, when the rain may wash nutrients away, I think it's best to leave earth uncovered for the birds to get to, to eat bugs and weed seeds during the cold months.

It's also better to leave it uncovered if it's clay soil, rough dig it in clods and the frost will break it up into nice friable soil.

If you cover it, all the weed seeds will germinate in the spring when you uncover it, anyway, so I don't think you gain anything by covering.

The deep water from winter rains is what lets the plants grow if we have a dry spring.

Saying that...I know a lot of people do cover their beds.............I've never understood why ;)

viettaclark

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2011, 22:31 »
Try a thick mulch with manure or leaf mould. As well as improving the soil it acts as a barrier to prevent weeds growing.
Come the Spring the worms will have done their job and incorporated it in so your soil will be luvverly.......

Bing

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2011, 22:52 »
thanks for all advices, I think I should remove the covers. they have been on for nearly two weeks now.