Pea Problems

• 35 Replies

ruth82

Pea Problems
« on: May 04, 2008, 20:42 »
I'm not having much luck with my peas  :cry: , I grew some on my window sill in paper pots, about half of them went mouldy...were they too warm?

I planted out the dozen or so that did germinate but it appears they have been eaten by something, I'm guessing a rabbit by the poo trails around!  :evil:

So basically I am back to square one so should I
1. plant them straight in the ground or in pots first?
2. use any netting or anything to disuade the rabbit from using the seedlings as lunch?
3. give up and stick to birds eye?!  :shock:

I'm a bit new to this incase you haven't guessed so would appreciate any advice.  :)
Rabbits are NOT cute

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Pea Problems
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2008, 20:58 »
I sling mine straight in the ground & then net them. It at least keeps the larger animals off, but be prepared for one or two mice to creep in!

The warmest I'd ever start peas off is in my unheated greenhouse. It appears that a lot of people are falling foul of starting things in the warmth that are cold tolerant. These seeds will rot in the warmth & damp.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

gobs

Pea Problems
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2008, 21:09 »
If you really do have a rabbit problem, it's not just your peas that will go missing. You need to erect a good fence to grow anything.

Try search as there have been a few useful threads about it in the past.
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Pea Problems
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2008, 21:18 »