gooseberrys - questions from a complete newbie to anything 'gardening' :)

• 8 Replies

Midnight Tboy

Hi all.

We've just last week taken over an allotment plot...which has been left abandoned for the past year or so.....so we've had our work cut out a bit with 6t weeds covering it all.  I'm very very new to gardening in general, the partner knows a bit, but its all about learning and exercise to me, but it means I'm very 'green' when it comes to some simple questions which you'll all no doubt take for granted.  On the upside, for first hour it feels like torture, but it does seem kind of relaxing after then and seeing slow progress.

Anyways......while removing these weeds, I came across a fair sized gooseberry bush.  Also a smaller red gooseberry bush near it.  Glad we noticed before pulling it out on autopilot.

Annoyingly, I just read that sometimes pigeons and such can strip these overnight......so hope that by me in effect uncovering them from around all the weeds and nettles etc hasn't left them a big open target......so will have to look at getting some netting if its not too late.

Anyways, onto the main question.  Just been googling about them, and read that normally you should start 'thinning' them around may/june time, then again a few weeks later.

Obviously that time has now passed, so I presume these are probably ripened ones (tasted sweet / tarty like cross between an underripe grape and rhubarb)

1.  When it comes to 'thinning' does that basically mean, I should pick off ALL the berries, the top half, or basically random ones around so theres basically more gaps between each leftover berry?

2.  For the end of the growing year, if I've basically taken all the berrys off, will it still come again the next year and so on, or if I take too many berrys will it cause it to fail?  Should I do anything to help it come back end of the year, chop it back a little bit or just leave it?