Girls wont roost on the bars - shall I take the bars out?

• 7 Replies

ChristyRose

• Experienced Member
All 6 of my girls pile into 3 nest boxes or sit close to the nest boxes on the coop floor at night.  Shall I just take the roosting bars out and put boxes on the floor for them?  The roosting bars do seem quite high up in their house so maybe they have trouble getting on them.  I've seen a couple of them roost but generally they like to sleep on the floor or in the nest boxes.

rileyfin

• Experienced Member
Re: Girls wont roost on the bars - shall I take the bars out?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 21:03 »
I have silkies and they do not like to roost on bars so I took them out. I have been keeping silkies for 3 years now and they are quite happy  :D

michael85

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 08:35 »
Our three hybrids have never used the perch at night, they seem quite happy sat on the floor of the coop.   We also have two Leghorns and they always use it.

If there not an obstruction I'd leave them there in case they decide they want to roost on them

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 16:50 »
They are better roosting so they are not sat in their own poo.  :tongue2:

Best to try blocking off the nest boxes at night and encourage them to roost.

Check you don't have a redmite problem and check the height of the roost bars against whatever breed you have.

Do you have ventilation above the roost bars, if not this could be the problem.  They will not like hot stale air and it can cause health issues.  Hope you get it sorted.   :)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

mumsy

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2012, 21:08 »