Nasty hen...well sort of!

• 32 Replies

virgotiger

Nasty hen...well sort of!
« on: July 31, 2009, 14:29 »
I'm new to keeping chickens and have 3 at the moment, a buff orpington bantam, a silkie and a red hen possibly rhode island red but not sure, and its her who's causing trouble.
When i go out into the garden she'll come up and peck my leg, ok it doesnt hurt but its rather annoying, i thought it was just me she's taken a disliking to but now when my 7 yr old daughter goes outside she does it to her, now shes too scared to go out! anyone know why she might be doing this? or what i can do to stop her? not sure of her age but over a year old. Thanks
4 kids,3 guinea pigs 1 bantam buff orpington, 1 warrens and 4 silkies...oh and a fella that thinks i'm weird!

kitkat

• Experienced Member
Re: Nasty hen...well sort of!
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2009, 14:42 »
Is she trying to be the gaffer? You could try a plant spray to shock her or pin her down on the floor for a few seconds. Needs nipping in the bud if she's doing it to your daughter, hope that helps
We have 17 chickens, 3 quail, 2 dogs, 3 cats and that's enough (for this week)

IMOmimey

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2009, 14:48 »
I think she's probably asking for her "scratch"(so-called because you scatter it and they scratch about to eat it), when you scatter  them some corn/wheat or whatever. Mine expect theirs early evening when I get home from work, and they peck at my toes and hands if I go in empty handed. We do have a cockerel however, that does a full on attack(corn or not!) and I have to hold a big piece of wood in front of me when i go in, so he kicks that instead.  It is possible to get a nasty hen, but lets hope she's just demanding corn. Try hand-feeding the corn when you go in, and see if its just that?
Pets:if you don't love them like family, don't have them

virgotiger

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2009, 14:56 »