What sort should I get?

• 17 Replies

Mr R Design

What sort should I get?
« on: April 17, 2015, 10:54 »
I'm new to chicken keeping and have just finished the coop setup.

I live in Oldbury, West Midlands in a normal suburban house.

I only want two but am not sure what to get so I would appreciate suggestions.

Egg laying abilities do not matter it is character that I am looking for and I do not have any problems with Hybrids.

My wish list is: the dafter the better, happy with confinement in a 12 square foot covered run (they will be able to roam but lets say for half hour a day), pretty, friendly and good with children.

Is it fair for me to say that two Speckled Sussex would fit the bill?

If it is what is their likelihood to want to fly over a two foot fence between me and the neighbour? It is not the end of the world if they do, the neighbour is fine I would just like to know. (Every other fence is 6 foot).

I am more than open to what people would suggest and if anyone knows a reputable place to get them from in my area then please say so.

Ta.

Beekissed

Re: What sort should I get?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2015, 21:50 »
Silkies! They are not only daft, but they aren't going to be flying anywhere and seem to prefer confinement...they don't do forage well anyway and are more prone to predation.  How about bantam silkies? 

Mr R Design

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2015, 08:31 »
Thanks for replying I do appreciate it.

No offence to anyone that has Silkies but I find them to fluffy.

I have thought about Bantams but initially I think I prefer medium'ish sized chickens.

I would however be interested as to why you have suggested Bantams.

Having done quite a bit of Googling there are two sorts that I keep going back to, Barnevelder and Welsummer.

Providing Google is right Barnevelders aren't good flyers because of their wing positions. I can't seem to find any comments about a Welsummers' flying abilities.