Poorly Chicken ~ Please Help!

• 15 Replies

Richardm

« on: January 14, 2008, 20:07 »
Hi
Would appreciate any advice on what might me up with our cream leghorn 'Toyah'.  Firstly should point out that I am very new to keeping chickens (4 in total) and have had them around six months.
Instead of running out of our chicken house, she sat slumped in the middle.  On trying to pick her up, she hopped around a little them slumped back down, with her legs out in front of her.  I picked her up and held her feet against my hand and she seemed to push - assumed she might have broken a leg (lords know how as none of my birds seem to use the perch to roost!).   I left her in a laying box by herself and a few hours later she hadn't moved.  So she is now in our conservatory (much to the amusement of our cat), eating well and drinking well.   She seems to be able to shuffle herself around within the box and is now picking up food herself.  Yesterday she only ate out of my hand and left any bits that fell.  She is moving her head around and makes a little bit of a noise, but won't stand.  I have had her from around 14 weeks old in the summer.  She had never layed a egg!  Not sure if she is egg bound, but other than the fact she can't get up she seems to be alert.  Any ideas??

babe

• elvis king of chooks
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2008, 20:08 »
oo sorry to hear she's poorly.

i cant help, but someone will be along shortly who will be able to offer some advice.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2008, 20:17 »
Have you examined her to see if there are any obvious problems.

i.e. things that seem different to usual.

She may have jumped and pulled a muscle/ligerment, which can take a while to get better.  Is she hot under the wing ?

Richardm

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2008, 21:12 »