Complete Novice!

• 15 Replies

Briony1979

Complete Novice!
« on: February 16, 2011, 21:21 »
Hi All!

We have recently aquired our first allotment (actually we're still waiting for the keys, but I'm very keen!).

Soooo, my question to all you seasoned growers out there is, what is the best bit of advice you could give me as a complete novice?

Any bit of knowledge big or small most welcome! I've only ever grown veg in containers before and it all seems a bit overwhelming.......

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Complete Novice!
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 21:29 »
Well you have made a great start by joining this forum - loads of advice, moral support and laughs to help you on your way  :)

Best bits of advice - don't try to clear a whole plot in 1 go, grow what you like to eat, don't be afraid to try new things even if they don't all work quite the way you expected first time and most of all, have a great time growing  :D

Y.E.A.H

• I love growing unusual vegetables!
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 21:32 »
Hello,

The best bit of advice i can give you is, not to try and do everything at once. Dig one bed at a time where you want one. If you plan your whole plot you will feel overwhelmed and feel like your getting no where. so just take it easy, don't rush it all  :)

good luck!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2011, 23:06 »
Welcome to the site  :D

The second best bit of advice is to edit your forum profile (click on your username) to show your general location, so all our advice can be tailored to the right part of the country  ;) :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

sarajane

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2011, 23:33 »