hi I am new to this and need help!!

• 18 Replies

toseland

hi I am new to this and need help!!
« on: May 02, 2010, 02:13 »
Please can some one tell me why over the last 2 years all my carrots, beetroot and parsnips have not been successful! They start to grow and some thing is eating the new shoots, no evidence of slugs, do you think it would be mice? How do I stop this! Thanks, Liz

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: hi I am new to this and need help!!
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2010, 08:19 »
Hi toseland, and welcome to the site :)
I'm moving your post over to 'Grow your own'  :)

Would you please alter your profile to show your location, it does sometimes make a difference to the answers.

paintedlady

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2010, 19:12 »
it is most likely to be slugs or snails toseland  ;)  They really do enjoy eating all our newly germinated seedlings and leave the weeds alone, and don't always leave tell tale trails either, especially slugs that hide in the soil.
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

DavidT

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2010, 21:37 »
The member who said slugs are your problem could well be right, however I have to say i ve never had much trouble with them eating parsnip etc foliage,parsnips in particular, are not usually prone to any pests,what i would do is buy ant killer in a puffer pack ,you can get them at your local £1 shop,although its meant to be used indoors just for ants,I find its effective puffed on vegetables on the allotment,it stops loads of pests nibbling at your newly emerged seedlings,just stand down wind of it when you apply,as you dont want it blowing in your face

That is pretty irresponsible, if you don`t mind me saying. Do you know what chemicals you are eating by misusing this product? A product designed to kill ants indoors, is not meant to be used as a general pesticide on food crops.

zazen999