Fig tree

• 3 Replies

Cdb2886

Fig tree
« on: August 20, 2023, 15:01 »
I had a fig tree given to me 4 years ago approx 3 feet high with 4 stems I potted it on and the following year we had a few fruit that developed to eat and a few that were not really ripe or big enough to use I potted it on to a bigger pot and last year and this we have seen no sign of any fruit however the foliage is fine . Is there anything that could be recommended it is fed and has been mulched each year

Learnerlady

• Experienced Member
Re: Fig tree
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2023, 18:08 »
Hi, I'm no expert but figs need their roots containing or they produce a lot of foliage rather than fruit so potting it on may have contributed to this.
We're in the Midlands and when the later fruits start to grow I remove them. The first year when I left them they fell off the following year anyhow
Fingers crossed it fruits next year then leave it until it seems completely root bound.

Subversive_plot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2023, 17:42 »
Growing tips for figs can be found here:
https://www.gardenersworld.com/how-to/grow-plants/how-to-grow-figs/

With many of the plants that I have, whether it is a vegetable, flowering plant, etc., when an under-performing  plant seems to be otherwise healthy, the first thing I think of is whether the plant is getting enough sunlight. The link I provided recommends full sun for figs.

Several neighbors of mine have outdoor fig trees, planted in the ground (note: I am in Georgia, USA).  So, they essentially have unlimited root space.  The producing fig trees have full sun.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2023, 20:03 by Subversive_plot »
"Somewhere between right and wrong, there is a garden. I will meet you there."~ Rumi

wighty

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2023, 19:56 »