nesting boxes and poo (total beginner)

• 12 Replies

flea

« on: November 09, 2008, 21:15 »
by birds keep perching on their nesting boxes overnight, and obviously keep pooping in them, so i tend to change the straw quite often.  but my FIL says you shouldnt need to change the straw that often, only a couple of times a year?

even if they werent pooing in the straw, that still seems a long time to me, to be using the same straw.

also, what time of day do hens lay? i had thought about covering the nesting boxes, but if they lay in the early morning, then they will have nowhere to go

im also a bit unsure about my coop.  its wooden, and the floor of it is wet every morning, i dont know if rains getting in (cant see any wet other than the floor) or do chickens wee? Also the nesting boxes are about 12" off the floor, and perches a bit higher, which means they are about 12" from the roof/ventilation hole.  Is this the right layout for a coop

Hens are yet to lay, but as they are just over 20wks im hoping its not too far off, they are Welsummers

Flea

meterman

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2008, 21:26 »
Hi best way is to put a sloped roof onto the nest box to stop them pearching, hens lay aprox every 25 hours so if on day 1 lays egg at 9am then day 2=10am day 3=11am etc

agapanthus

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2008, 21:35 »
We usually clean out every three weeks.......I think waiting a year would be just a bit stinky!!!!!!!! :shock:

Vember

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2008, 21:38 »
Hi Flea

Welcome to the Hen House

I pick up the worst of the poops daily and then do a total clean out at least once a month - depending on the time of year.

Is it possible to physically lift them on to the perches at night if you do that for a bit then they should get the idea :?

Sarah :)

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2008, 21:46 »
Hi Flea welcome to the forums  :D