How much do you grow?

• 22 Replies

spud

• Experienced Member
How much do you grow?
« on: July 26, 2009, 13:49 »
Hi everyone,

I've been gardening for quite a few years and grow a fair amount of what we eat, but certainly not it all.

I'd like to be in position to grow more, I do have a greenhouse which helps with extending the season a little ... but I'm now thinking about moving to somewhere with a longer growing season, not sure where yet?

I have kept hens, chickens, pigs, and bee's all of which contributed to our diet.

How much of your diet do you grow?

TIA
Cheers
Best Regards,

spud

Trillium

Re: How much do you grow?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2009, 16:24 »
Not as much yet as I'd like to grow (we've been here almost 6 yrs) but I'm slowly growing more and more as I can make beds and whatever.
The biggest point is that I find my veg requirements changing. At one time I thought I needed a lot of spuds, but now I find I eat very few and beans are taking their place. But, I can't grow enough beans to sustain myself but I'm still coming up with solutions. I simply don't have room to grow much if any corn, so I buy that from a local organic society and freeze as much as I can. Winters here hit a steady -20C so winter growing is pretty much impossible for even lettuces.

spud

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2009, 17:14 »
Thanks Trillium, similar sort of reason why I'm considering moving ... from my research food is going to become way more expensive, and as i enjoy growing it, why not save and do it myself.

I'm at an age where I should have been thinking about taking things easier, but the way things have turned out work prospects will be poor for many a year ... there are many younger folks looking for work also, so I'm trying to cover my azz for the future.

Here is a very inspiring video ...

mCPEBM5ol0Qfeature=channel_page

Cheers

:)

SG6

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2009, 18:01 »