Best peppers?

• 14 Replies

Pimento

• Experienced Member
Best peppers?
« on: January 29, 2022, 21:05 »
Please can anyone recommend a good early, fairly prolific sweet pepper to grow in my northern greenhouse? I haven’t tried peppers often and haven’t so far had a great deal of success. Thanks in advance!
I don't really look like my avatar.

Subversive_plot

• Global Moderator
Re: Best peppers?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2022, 03:41 »
Sweet banana peppers are a great choice. Fantastic fresh, but also useful in cooking.

Another long pepper with a broad shoulder is Corno di Toro. I'm not experienced with these, but friends rave about them, so I'm  ordering seeds this year.
"Somewhere between right and wrong, there is a garden. I will meet you there."~ Rumi

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2022, 09:09 »
Real Seeds have a few very early ones that originated in Eastern Europe where they are bred to get going and produce in a short summer, so do well in the UK  :)

The ones I have tried are Amy and Lipstick.  Both very good and very early.  Obviously I am further south than you, but they say early March is soon enough to sow and still get a crop.

https://www.realseeds.co.uk/sweetpeppers.html

Pimento

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2022, 09:17 »
Thanks very much, SubPlot and New Shoot - that’s really helpful! Hadn’t heard of Sweet Banana and I’d looked at what Real Seeds have, so good to know you’ve had success with those varieties. I’ll try a couple of all your recommendations and see what happens! I’ve got very limited space this year so thought I’d try and expand my repertoire instead of the usual toms.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2022, 09:40 by Pimento »

Lardman

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2022, 09:53 »