Pinching out growing tips - Sweetpeas

• 13 Replies

Pony Girl

• Experienced Member
Pinching out growing tips - Sweetpeas
« on: April 25, 2012, 11:09 »
I bought some sweetpeas from the garden centre. Do I have to nip out the growing tip or will this have already been done? It didn't say you had to do so on the instructions.

If 'yes', what does the growing tip look like and how do you do it? Mine are all planted out now.

Thanks

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Pinching out growing tips - Sweetpeas
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 11:23 »
I'm not an expert on this, but did a bit of Googling when someone asked this question a bit back.

It said to nip out autumn sown ones, but not spring sown ones. I suspect yours will be the latter.

However, if you Google hard enough you'll find contrary advice. Personally, I've left my spring sown ones alone.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 11:28 »
This is a practice used by the show winners of sweet peas, you don't have to do it.  They(somehow) found that removing the main stem the side shoot was more robust.

If there is a side shoot growing and no main stem I should assume it has been done, but I cannot see a garden centre spending time and money to do this.  I should pinch out a few and see how things pan out.

Hope you have a good show.   Don't forget, if your peas reach the top of the cane you can unwind (if you have removed the tendrills and upper side shoots) the pea, lay it on the ground and then send it up a convenient cane.

Cheers,    Tony.

I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

Diddy Gardener

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 15:54 »