Fresh Manure- do they know something i don't?

• 3 Replies

TheSpartacat

Fresh Manure- do they know something i don't?
« on: January 23, 2011, 14:16 »
I've been down the plot wheeling manure this week, and piling it up in order to rot it down before using it.... it's all straw and manure lumps... but am extremely surprised to see that all the plot holders around me, including more "experienced" plotters and the site secretary have spread their fresh manure directly onto the beds

Do they know something i don't?
 ???

I noticed they were all doing that in June last year too, when fresh manure got delivered- it all went straight on the beds, like a mulch around what was growing (lettuce, brassica beds, etc) which flies in the face of everything i've read. But i didnt hear of anyone complaining of scorched plants or poor crops.

I'm only a newbie there, so i feel a bit cheeky questioning what seems to be "the norm".... but....?????? ??? ??? ??? huh?
Am i wrong? Will it have rotted on the beds before April?

Mark-S

Re: Fresh Manure- do they know something i don't?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 14:30 »
Don't you remember the Nitrogen Cycle you did at school?  Problee in Biology......

The issue is not fresh or otherwise manure - the microbes act uopon the OM in the soil to break down and release nutrients, so the more rotted down it is before it goes into the soil, the quicker the NPKS etc will be made avilable.

If i have fresh box muck then i let it rot down, ideally thsi is done before its is delivered.  However if the farmer can only deliver it fresh then i will apply it as a mulch and let the worms do their business.

its nice to be important, but it more important to be nice......

TheSpartacat

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 14:45 »
Don't you remember the Nitrogen Cycle you did at school?  Problee in Biology......