Poorly hen?

• 11 Replies

hoptonboy

Poorly hen?
« on: August 29, 2012, 14:18 »
Hi,

I'm a total novice and got my 5 hens yesterday. They have been wormed and are due to be wormed again in October. 4 are lively, pecking and scratting about and generally seem to be enjoying their new home. however one seems very sorry for herself, she seems to keep herself away from the others, and stands for periods at a time, closing her eyes and not pecking around or anything.

To make matters worse it has thrown it down today and she decided to stand out on the rain so she is bedraggled and wet and has only just gone inside where she stood and put her head under her wing.

Do you think she is poorly or just taking some time to settle in?

Thanks
Novice in all things on this forum!!

kegs

Re: Poorly hen?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 17:19 »
Welcome.  It does sound as if she is poorly.  What breed of chicken are they or are they ex-bats?  Do you know if they were wormed with Flubenvet?  Did you get them from a reputable supplier and were all of the other hens (besides yours) fit and healthy. 

It might be a good idea to contact the person you bought them from and explain the condition of your chicken as they may be willing to exchange it for you as you only got them yesterday.

hoptonboy

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 17:33 »
Hi Yes Flubenvet was the name I was given.

All the birds, including her, all seemed healthy and happy. The breeder (who is reputable!) did warn that they may get a bit down and have snotty noses and eyes in the next two/three days due to the stress of moving, but should be OK after that.

I will keep an eye on her, just that the other four don't seem bothered by the move at all! Maybe she's more sensitive!

Sorry - forgot to say, they are all hybrids: 2 black stars, 2 gingers and 1 light sussex. She is one of the gingers.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2012, 17:34 by hoptonboy »

grinling

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 23:32 »