Hen attacking cats

• 11 Replies

Frangelina

Hen attacking cats
« on: August 18, 2010, 16:59 »
Hello, I am new to the hen thing.  Have my 3 hens, Rick, Ray and Rudy now for just over two months.  When I get home from work I let the hens out into a hen proof section of the garden.  They are also for 4 or 5 hours a day at the week-ends.  My cats have the run of the rest of the garden but would spend time in the hen part just lying around, doing what cats do best and looking kind of annoyed.  Last week-end Rick, my mental hen started chasing the cats and pecking at their bottoms.  Now everytime one of my cats appears Rick takes off after him.  Kit and Kat are 13 and this is their home and they were there first.  I have tried sitting with them beside me and Rick on my knee but as soon as I put him down (can't think of rick as a girl - too much of a bully) he jumps up and tries to peck the cats.  I need them to be friends.  Has anyone got any suggestions.

PS:  I have seen Rick chasing a squirrel too. 

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
Re: Hen attacking cats
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2010, 18:26 »
My cat was terrified of the hens for ages, and used to run off, but now he has learnt that if he does not move that they will not chase him.
Your hens seem to have got the idea that the garden belongs to them and not the cats. Are you sure they are hens and not cockerels?

8doubles

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 19:16 »
Video Rick chasing the cats and with the money you get from 'You`ve been framed' you can buy some cat body armour.

But seriously,the hens will get bored with it , mine used to chase sparrows but soon gave up. :)

iwantanallotment

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2010, 00:17 »
I wish my hens would chase off the 2 cats that stalk them daily  :tongue2:

hillfooter

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2010, 02:03 »