Draw vs Dutch hoes

• 18 Replies

lsp12

Draw vs Dutch hoes
« on: April 23, 2009, 14:15 »
Forgive this question as I am a novice... I seem to recall gardeners back home (France) using draw hoes whilst here one mainly find dutch hoes... I was wondering if this is 'cultural' or if there is a different use for each?
Anyone keen to shed some light on this for me?
Thanks in advance
Laurence

MoreWhisky

Re: Draw vs Dutch hoes
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 16:13 »
I find the Swoe the superior tool  ::)
I'm very important. I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2009, 16:30 »
Prefer a pull push hoe myself.

HLS

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2009, 16:33 »
The Dutch hoe does seem to be more widely available - I'm not sure why.  I've heard that a draw hoe is better for heavier soils but I can't confirm that from experience - I've got a Dutch hoe myself because my parents, who find it very good on their sandy soil, bought it for me.  So far it seems to be doing OK on my clay soil but I've only used it when the soil's been fairly dry on top.

dorimower

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2009, 17:10 »
We much prefer the swan neck type of draw hoe....and the type with a curved top to the blade...this means the pointed corner can be got right up to a plant to hook out the tiniest weed..
The hoes were used for gapping in this area but it is getting more difficult to find older ones in good condition.

The same type of hoe but with a square blade is all but useless as the top corners of the blade prevent the action I describe above and in fact can catch the plant you are trying to weed around...

The pull action is prefered also as we can leave the ground worked slightly deeper than if using a push hoe...and in fact our mulch is a layer of dry worked soil...

"Dori"

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2009, 11:34 »