comfrey Tea

• 14 Replies

flopsy

comfrey Tea
« on: September 14, 2011, 12:01 »
Hi
this is my first year on the allotment so still new to things.
I have a comfrey patch which is full of big green leaves, my qustion is what is best to do withit strip the leaves and put them in the composter or make comfrey tea ready for new year.
How long does comfrey tea last before it goes off?
cheers pete

savbo

Re: comfrey Tea
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2011, 12:09 »
I used the tea after leaving for the winter, I think it doesn't 'go off' in the sense that the minerals it contains are still there, but it will be even whiffier after several months. I use the milk container method for reducing stink...

you'll have to be quick though cos the comfrey plant will be pulling the nutrients back into its roots now before dying back.

savbo

Quetzal

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2011, 12:12 »
i'd be tempted to stick it on the compost heap - there'll be time enough to brew some up next year, assuming you have a decent supply of comfrey, and the soup really really reeks, so not having it on the plot for as long as possible seems like a good idea to me (even with a lid keeping it at bay - accidents happen).

bigben

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2011, 12:25 »
A consideration if you make tea is -what are you putting it in over the winter? If it freezes and cracks then all is lost. This is not a worry if you put the leaves in your compost.

flopsy

« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2011, 16:10 »
Hi thanks for all your replies
cheers pete

stentman

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2011, 20:04 »