Handfuls of mixed corn

• 12 Replies

hoptonboy

Handfuls of mixed corn
« on: September 16, 2012, 00:16 »
Hi,

Another question (sorry, I'm new to keeping hens) - how much mixed corn is too much? I give my 5 girls one to two handfuls every evening, thrown around the pen for them to scrat around for before bedtime.

I also give them the odd vegetable, they seem to love tomatoes and carrots.

I got the girls about 3 weeks ago, at POL, but at the moment only two are laying - was wondering if I'm overfeeding and that this is slowing/stopping egg rpoduction.

They also always have access to layers pellets.

Thanks
Novice in all things on this forum!!

Sassy

Re: Handfuls of mixed corn
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2012, 08:47 »
The amount of corn you are feeding is about right. Don't worry about them laying just yet if they are point of lay. Some may not lay until after Christmas at this time of the year. It is important not to overfeed as fat hens do not lay. Layers pellets should be freely available and fed ad lib though. You're lucky that yours eat carrots, I have carrots freely available and mine won't touch them ::)

Sit back and enjoy it will all happen in time :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

ehs284

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2012, 08:49 »
That's fine. They'll (have to) stop eating when the crop is full so you can't literally overfeed them. Quality of food is good with layers and that amount of corn is just a nice treat. Just check that they do actually eat it all - I'd be surprised if they didn't - as you need to be ready for the autumn when mice are looking for new food sources. Do you have a supply of mixed grit? If not then it's worth putting out a dish; you'll be amazed how much they get through. Buy a big bag from the farm stores as the pet/poultry tubs are a rip-off.

grinling

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2012, 10:36 »