poorly hen?

• 27 Replies

mrs chook

• Experienced Member
poorly hen?
« on: March 17, 2013, 19:26 »
Hi all,
I'm new to keeping chickens & have noticed a problem with one of my girls (blacktail - sold 4 weeks ago as Point of lay) She is eating /drinking well. Her poo seems normal but she spends a lot of time hunched with puffed up feathers . She moves around but will stop & sleep often. Have stopped giving treats - just layers pellets & added cider vinegar to water.

Any advice please?

A worried Mrs. Chook  :(
Keep calm & talk to chickens :)

SusieB

• Experienced Member
Re: poorly hen?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 19:46 »
Definitely signs of a poorly chook.  Sorry I can't be any more help than that.  Hopefully somebody more knowledgeable will be a long shortly.  If it was me, I'd take her to the vet tomorrow.

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 19:57 »
She may be having difficulty in laying her first egg.  You could try a warm bath for around half an hour to relax her muscles.  Make sure you gently towel dry and finish off with a cool hairdryer.

Do check closly for any other symptoms.  Check she doesn't have any unwanted visitors on her or in the coop.
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

henamoured

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 19:58 »
Have you felt under her wing for temperature? Giver her a good examination for any signs of damage or parasites. Are you sure she is eating/drinking? If so, that is good news and I would suspect this is caused by the move. It can stress chx out to be in a new environment. Is she getting bullied?