home storage

• 8 Replies

lordthanatos

• 1st Pumpkin Contest 2011
  • Experienced Member
home storage
« on: September 12, 2011, 12:56 »
hey all hope all is growing well

ive become unstuck as ive just had a load of onions, pumpkins and few others come ready for harvest

but i really have no idea where to store them

i dont have a garage, shed or spare room to use and my kitchen storage is limited at the best of times

i do intend to eat my way through is soonish as its my first year and only grew smallish amounts but next year i really want to use the whole of my plot to keep me going for longer

i will have a shed on the plot in a few weeks but ive heard thats not the best place to store veg?

how do you all keep yours stored? or if you could point me in right direction

thanks all

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: home storage
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 13:26 »
 You can store pumpkins under the bed  ::)  or in a wardrobe, or like me when there are a lot...on top of the dresser and bookcase, they are quite decorative I think :)
As long as they don't freeze or get too hot they're ok. Just check regularly and any that start to get brown markings or visible rot need to be eaten asap.

Onions really need to be kept open to the air or they tend to go mouldy, that's why people string them or not them in a pairs of tights.

Potatoes can be stored in a box built in the shed as long as you make it frost-proof, but onions/pumpkins do store better with airflow.

B_and_D

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2011, 18:43 »
Ditto about keeping your eye on them.  I used to have a lovely pair of hand made Italian leather shoes until an unwatched pumpkin decided to explode over them.  Doh. :blush:

webby139

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2011, 07:22 »
Hi all,

Just seen the thread and just want a bit clarification on the potatoes.

Would cardboard boxes, like shoe boxes be adaquate to store potatoes in the garage ??

Cheers
Keith

sunshineband

• Global Moderator