free ranging

• 11 Replies

looe-looe-belle

• lohmann brown hybrids = eggs! eggs! eggs!! :)
free ranging
« on: September 27, 2010, 10:34 »
hello everyone i have six lohmann brown hens newly acquired on saturday and i am a complete novice! They are in a coop with a run but i dont feel the run is big enough i would like them to free range however i do like my plants etc as i only have a 60 ft garden would i need to remove all my plants and would i need to clip their wings - as i wouldnt want them flying next door or in the alley way! Would appreciate some advice please
regards Patricia

Beano

Re: free ranging
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 11:20 »
If you only had them on Saturday I would not let them free range just yet. Let them get used to their home first. Meanwhile you could fence off a section on the garden for them.
I dont know how big your run is, but the ones you get with the coops are never big enough.
As for clipping their wings, I'm not keen on it personally but that is up to you. Ours can fly out if they want to but they are nicely settled and dont bother. I like to think that they could fly to safety if something was after them.
El.

rachelr

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 11:28 »
I have Lohmans and whilst they jump and flutter their wings they dont fly long distances.

Mine were allowed to free range once they got the hang of laying in their coop. They kept escaping from their run so I figured I would try gradually to let them free range. My fences are not brilliant and as yet they have not attempted to jump them.

I have however no borders left they only eat wat they like but they do dig up wat they dont lol. I was digging one of my borders the other day and as soon as i went into clean up they were dust bowling in all my cropped plants.

I have 7 hens now and the pooh is far and wide. You can pooh pick each day or else put a wire mesh by the back door so they dont tread it in.