Ex bat advice please!!!

• 4 Replies

Mum2mj

Ex bat advice please!!!
« on: March 28, 2012, 18:07 »
Hi everyone, just posted on the welcome page.  I'm getting four ex 'enriched caged' chickens on Sunday, think they're around 17 months so I'm not expecting an awful lot of eggs. Have been informed they may well come with redmite - lovely! Just wanted any advice really on settling them in, treating them for redmite, or even what to go for when picking them (if we're given the option)
we have a raised coop with an enclosed run permanently available to them & will let them wreak havoc in the garden when I'm home, have layers crumbs to start with & I think all the basics covered, had 3 hybrids for around 8 months before so not a complete novice although I had no problems with them at all. Think I've rambled enough so any advice would be welcomed - thanks in advance!

bantam novice

Re: Ex bat advice please!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 19:12 »
Hello there and welcome to the site  :D

You seem to have things well in hand and I applaud you for giving the ex-batts a chance at a chickeny life.  :)

Redmite lurk in the cracks and crevices of a wooden coop and only come out at night when the hens are perching to drink their blood.  If you type redmite into the search box in the top right hand corner you will find lots of info and advice.

If you have a wooden coop I would be inlined to give it a good clean and spray it with a disinfectant like Ficam W or Stalosan F then make a slurry of diatomaceous earth mixed with a little poultry guard and water and paint this on the inside of the coop in all the cracks and crevices.

Good luck and keep us posted  :D

By the way it would be great if you could post pics of your ex-batts when you get them and then take more pics say six months down the road to see the difference  :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

hen-night

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 20:29 »