Advice -lonely hen?

• 8 Replies

laurax20

Advice -lonely hen?
« on: June 27, 2014, 19:42 »
I'm new to this page, I have no idea how to use this so I hope somebody can help.. I have had 5 rescue battery hens, when two died we got 5 more, granted the old ones were about 2 so after their ordeal they have slowly gotten poorly and died until we had one of the old ones, mixed with the 5 new ones, she then got poorly and we thought she wouldn't make it, she is now fighting fit again, but she has been kept away from the new battery hens for around two weeks now as she was so poorly, she has now taken to standing at the gate where the other 5 are kept, but after putting her in this afternoon, and her getting pecked at, I took her back out. She just stands at the gate or under the bush next to the gate looking at her old run around with such longing, she has the house and garden to have the run of but I think she's lonely, is she best off on her own or does she need reintroducing? It breaks all of our families hearts seeing them so poorly as we got so attached so we don't want her to get bullied to the point she also gives up, as she is our last remaining original and we're so very fond of her. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I couldn't make a new topic for some reason. Thank you..

barley

Re: Advice -lonely hen?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 19:57 »
how sad  :(

is there any way you can make a small pen within the area the others are , so she can be with the others but they can't attack her

once she seems to be accepted again try letting her out with them

another idea would be to get some live maggots and scatter them whilst she is there , the others will be so excited and distracted by the maggots that they won't be interested in her - keep watch after though  ;)
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 19:59 by barley »

laurax20

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 20:39 »