poly tunnel help

• 4 Replies

bailey

• Experienced Member
poly tunnel help
« on: August 17, 2008, 09:59 »
hi all,
I,m a newbie here so i,m hoping to pick your brains,
I dare say  i will be posting on a regular basis for advise ect, I might eventually be able to offer some of my own,

anyway here goes the first and to start its probably in the wrong forum?

I will hopefully be inheriting as it were an allotment, it was regulaly used up until a while back when the the old fella could,nt keep up with it,, a good decent sized plot and my plans are only to use so much of it at first, but not allowing the rest to go wild , anyway it has a polytunnel which does,nt look too bad the only problems being the doors need refixing which will be an easy fix the other i,m not to sure about, when you enter the tunnel and look up to the roof as it were the poly has come apart leaving a big gaping hole, does the poly usually join here? as it seems as though some sort of seem has split, and if so what do you use to join it?
the rest of the poly looks in good order and if I would prefer to save it rather then replace.

any hints tips ect would be great

many thanks

Clampit

poly tunnel help
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2008, 10:13 »
Hello Bailey, I dare say your poly has split where it has been in contact with a hoop or the ridge of the metal frame. Poly sheets are not normally in more than one piece unless your tunnel is over 250 feet in length.
You need to check the anti hot spot tape (the white stuff inbetween the metal tubes and poly) to see if it needs replacing. The surface of the tape should be smooth, if it is rough and flakey then replace it. You can get repair tape for poly which is uv resistant, it is quite expensive but very good, as long as your sheet isn't going in other places then I would recommend it.